Remembering Veronica, Every Step of the Way

Donna and Ryan

Mother and son, Donna & Ryan Schenkel, ran a half marathon together on May 1 to support the Central NJ Brain Tumor Support Group in memory of Veronica Reagan, their Mom & Nonna

A Daughter & Grandson’s Inspiring Tribute To Their Beloved Mom & Nonna

A Special Note: I truly believe that we all meet for a reason, although we may not know it at the time. A couple of months ago I walked into a committee meeting for an event for our school district’s PTO not expecting to meet and be inspired by another volunteer. Donna and I worked together on a project and had a few good laughs videotaping the promo video for the event. It wasn’t until we connected on Facebook that we learned that we had something very special in common. We both lost our mothers to cancer and are doing our part to help honor and carry on  our Moms’ legacies while including our children in the efforts to ensure that their Nonnas’ memory lives on. It’s not every day that you meet someone who understands and “gets” what you’ve been through, and continue to go through, all because they have faced the very same thing. Donna recently posted that she and her 11 year old son Ryan ran a half marathon (13.1 miles!) in memory of her Mom, Veronica, to kick off Brain Tumor Awareness month (May), raise money and show their support for the Central NJ Brain Tumor Support Group, a group that helped and supported Veronica and her family during her battle. I’m so proud of Donna and Ryan for their tremendous accomplishment! There’s no doubt that their Mom and Nona was running right beside them…. every step of the way!
– Lori Genzel

Written by Donna Reagan Schenkel

 “We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.”
–Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

Donna and her Mom

Mom & I on my wedding day.  My mom is truly an angel who I believe leads me to all the good in my life.

For 9 years my mother, Veronica Reagan, battled brain cancer. Originally diagnosed with a grade 3 tumor, her tumor advanced to a grade 4 and became more aggressive, and so did her therapy.  During her 9 year battle, Mom underwent three brain surgeries, radiation, experimental IMRT, radiation and chemotherapy from the start. When Mom was first diagnosed, we like many others, had a hard time putting our head around the whole situation, and reached out for support and information. So many organizations, while big in stature, were just too big to really provide the personal support and the help we were looking for. One day while googling brain tumors the Central NJ Brain Tumor Support Group popped up in the results. There was a local number listed and I quickly dialed it. That very web search helped us find the most compassionate, understanding and empathetic group of people we have ever come into contact with. I can still remember where we were when Virginia answered the phone, and the overwhelming feeling of gratitude that we finally  had found as we connected with someone who “just knew” what we were going through. This support group, led by a husband and wife team, Stan and Virginia, started the group when their son Matthew was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The couple have been a constant source of strength, comfort, and knowledge for us and so many families in central NJ. Stan and Virginia continue to keep the support group alive, as that was their son’s wish, and they are truly angels on earth. They and all the people that we have come to know through this group are there for each other, in good times and bad, at anytime, and any place. They provide valuable support both emotionally as well as therapeutically, constantly sharing information on new treatment options available, and whether it is meeting for coffee at Dunkin’ Donuts just to talk, or sitting in a car on a cold windy night brainstorming, they are people who know, people who care and people who help just because they know what you are going through, have been there and know how difficult it can be. 

BrainTumor Group Leader

Left to right: Donna, Stan (one of the leaders of Central NJ Brain Tumor Support Group) and Veronica

On May 1st,  Ryan and I laced up our sneakers and ran the NJ Half Marathon (13.1 miles) in Long Branch, NJ. This was Ryan’s 2nd year running the NJ Marathon Events to make a difference for the patients, survivors and families of the Central NJ Brain Tumor Support Group.  In 2015 Ryan joined me for the second half of the half marathon and we crossed the finish line together. With a sense of accomplishment, Ryan smiled and immediately asked if he could run the full Half Marathon next year.  There’s no doubt the stubbornness of his Nonna lives on him, and that’s a beautiful thing! This year was the second year that Ryan was the youngest participant. I’m so proud of him for his determination, perseverance and for running to help others. The funds raised will be used to support families affected by brain cancer, for brain tumor research, conferences, and to fund scholarships for individuals who have been impacted by brain cancer in their families.  The Central NJ Brain Tumor Support Group is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, tax-exempt organization.To learn more visit www.njbt.org/startCNJBTSG.cfm

 

 Ryan and Nona                                              By the Beach               Nona and grandchildren
My Mom was truly an angel sent from Heaven.  Abandoned on the streets of Newark at a young age, she pretty much made it her mission to give my brother and I all that she never had.  She was brilliant and always valued education.  Growing up college was never an “if”, it was always a “when”.  She helped us face adversity with a can-do, never give up attitude.  We did not always have it easy, and clearly neither did she, but her fight and fortitude was beyond admirable.  My Mom has taught me almost as much in death as she did in life.  She lives on in our lives daily.  In small every day moments where Heaven just smiles down on us, as well as in troubling times when somehow we are able to find a path through.  My Mom met 3 of my 4 children and no-doubt had a unique and special bond with Ryan, her first grandchild.  She adored him and he adored her just as much.  The tradition that Ryan and I started to run in memory of my Mom and his Nonna is so special. She is always remembered and never forgotten!  She had a heart of gold as does Ryan and all of my children. She lives on in him and all of us.
We will never stop fighting and running until a cure is found. With every stride and every mile, we will run  for and always remember Mom & Nonna, every step of the way.
Donna Ryan.jpg

The Schenkel Family

I Run For Life – Melissa Etheridge

“It’s been years since they told her about it
The darkness her body possessed
And the scars are still there in the mirror
Everyday that she gets herself dressed

Though the pain is miles and miles behind her
And the fear is now a docile beast
If you ask her why she is still running
She’ll tell you it makes her complete

I run for hope, I run to feel
I run for the truth for all that is real
I run for your mother, your sister, your wife
I run for you and me my friend
I run for life

It’s a blur since they told me about it
How the darkness had taken its toll
And they cut into my skin and they cut into my body
But they will never get a piece of my soul

And now I’m still learning the lesson
To awake when I hear the call
And if you ask me why I am still running
I’ll tell you I run for us all

I run for hope, I run to feel
I run for the truth for all that is real
I run for your mother, your sister, your wife
I run for you and me my friend
I run for life

And someday if they tell you about it
If the darkness knocks on your door
Remember her, remember me
We will be running as we have before
Running for answers, running for more

I run for hope, I run to feel
I run for the truth for all that is real
I run for your mother, your sister, your wife
I run for you and me my friend

I run for hope, I run to feel
I run for the truth for all that is real
I run for your mother, your sister, your daughter, your wife
For you and me my friend
I run for life

I run for your mother, your sister, your wife
I run for you and me my friend
I run for life”

 

2 thoughts on “Remembering Veronica, Every Step of the Way

  1. I will never forget her humor and wit, you still amaze me Donna, the love you have for your mom , I remember the day you jogged all the way to the NH just to visit her, you and Ryan are a great inspiration of what family love is I know she is watching from above and smiling knowing she raised such a wonderful daughter

    Like

Leave a comment